Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Wins Pakistan Cup 2016

KPK Win Pakistan Cup 2016

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa beats Punjab in the final to win Pakistan Cup 2016. After wining the toss, KPK decided to bat in the day/night final played at Iqbal Stadium in Faisalabad, Pakistan. Openers Ahmed Shahzad (62) and Fakhar Zaman (115) put a great opening partnership giving KPK a solid target of 311. Younis Khan, who has been in some trouble during the tournament, came back to play and hit a knock of 49 runs before Shan Masood caught him outon a delivery by Amad Butt. Amad Butt took 3 wicket for Punjab while Ehsan Adil managed to dismiss 2 KPK batsmen.

Punjab’s chase was rather slow. The youngster Shan Masood stood firm while his opening pair Salman Butt got out for a duck followed by Aamer Yamin for just 1 run. It was Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Rizwan who tried to get their team back on track but they had lost too many balls and had only half of wicket in hand. After these two batsmen got out, Punjab never recovered and they were all out for just 160 runs. Yasir Shah and Zohaib Khan took 3 wickets each for KPK. Zia-ul-Haq took 2.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa won by 151 runs.

KPK winning celebrations

Match Summary

Toss – Khyber Pakhtunkhwa
Series – Khyber Pakhtunkhwa won the 2016 Pakistan Cup
Player of the match – Fakhar Zaman (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa)
Umpires – Ahsan Raza and Shozab Raza
TV umpire – Asif Yaqoob
Match referee – Mussadaq Rasool
Reserve umpire – Rashid Riaz


Find complete scorecard on ESPN Cricinfo
Cricknock Staff
Cricket Knock is the ultimate source of cricket news and information. Visit our blog to get treated with finest and exclusive cricket content including humour, rumours, gossips, videos, pictures and more. Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Google Plus.