ICC Announces LG ICC Awards for 2013

ICC Announces LG ICC Awards for 2013

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced LG ICC Awards for 2013. The event was hosted by former Australia captain Ricky Ponting. Total 13 awards were given to 11 individuals and 2 teams. Micheal Clarke of Australia has grabbed the ICC Cricketer of the year award as well as ICC Test Player of the year. The ICC Player of the Year Award is also known as Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy. Suzie Bates of New Zealand has won ICC women’s ODI Cricketer of the year.

ICC Announces LG ICC Awards for 2013

ICC President, Alan Isaac, said: “I’d like to congratulate all of the winners announced today, who are all highly deserving of their awards. It’s been a fantastic year of cricket and I think a special congratulation is needed for Michael Clarke, who claimed two awards this evening, including of course the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year.

“I would also like to extend my thanks to all of those on the Selection Panel and the various Voting Academies who gave up their time to vote for the various awards.”

The complete list of LG ICC Awards 2013 winners:

ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) – Michael Clarke (Australia)

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year – Michael Clarke (Australia)

ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Suzie Bates (New Zealand)

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year – Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Cheteshwar Pujara (India)

ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year – Kevin O’Brien (Ireland)

ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year – Umar Gul (Pakistan)

ICC T20I Women’s Cricketer of the Year – Sarah Taylor (England)

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award – Mahela Jayawardena (Sri Lanka)

ICC Umpire of the Year (winning the David Shepherd Trophy) – Richard Kettleborough

LG People’s Choice – MS Dhoni

ICC Test Team of the Year is as follows (in batting order):

Alastair Cook (Eng – Captain)

Cheteshwar Pujara (Ind)

Hashim Amla (SA)

Michael Clarke (Aus)

Michael Hussey (Aus)

AB de Villiers (SA)

MS Dhoni (Ind – wicketkeeper)

Graeme Swann (Eng)

Dale Steyn (SA)

James Anderson (Eng)

Vernon Philander (SA)

12th Man – Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind)

ICC ODI Team of the Year is as follows (in batting order):

Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)

Shikhar Dhawan (Ind)

Hashim Amla (SA)

Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

AB de Villiers (SA)

MS Dhoni (Ind, wicketkeeper/captain)

Ravindra Jadeja (Ind)

Saeed Ajmal (Pak)

Mitchell Starc (Aus)

James Anderson (Eng)

Lasith Malinga (SL)

12th Man – Mitchell McClenaghan (NZ)

LG ICC Awards Broadcast Schedule

The Event will be aired on various channels from 14th of December. Here is the schedule of the broadcast.LG ICC Awards Broadcast Schedule

Imran Hunzai
Imran Hunzai is a cricket fanatic and blogger. He contributes stories related to T20 Cricket and Pakistan Cricket Team. He is also the co-founder Centangle Interactive - an Islamabad-based digital media agency.