BCCI bans 5 Indian players

BCCI bans 5 Indian players

The BCCI (Board for Control of Cricket in India) has banned 5 Indian players for their involvement is various charges of spot fixing and match fixing during the 5th edition of the IPL (Indian Premier League). The BCCI’s disciplinary committee which was headed by its president N Srinivasan, took the decision during a meeting in Mumbai.

Sudhindra (Deccan Chargers), Mishra (Pune Warriors), Yadav (Kings XI Punjab), Srivastava (Kings XI Punjab) and Bali, a Delhi cricketer who now represents Himachal Pradesh in domestic cricket, were reported to be involved in various spot fixing and match fixing scandals.

BCCI bans 5 Indian players

According to the report, TP Sudhindra is banned for life. The other players 4 players, who were caught in a sting operation by a news channel in May are:

Mohnish Mishra (banned for one year), Amit Yadav (banned for one year), Abhinav Bali (banned for one year) and Shalabh Srivastava (banned for five years)

India TV claimed on Monday it had conducted a sting operation in which many IPL players had confessed on hidden camera that they got much more than their prescribed auction money under the table.

According to the channel, the sting also revealed that spot-fixing is not only prevalent in IPL but also in first-class matches and that women played an important role in match-fixing.

Imran Hunzai
Imran Hunzai is a cricket fanatic and blogger. He contributes stories related to T20 Cricket and Pakistan Cricket Team. He is also the co-founder Centangle Interactive - an Islamabad-based digital media agency.