Is History Going to Repeat itself for Pakistan in ICC Cricket World Cup 2015

Pakistan Cricket Team in ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 vs World Cup 1992

History might repeat itself for Pakistan in ICC Cricket World Cup 2015. We have digged up some amazing facts that are pretty much similar in World Cup 1992 & ICC Cricket World Cup 2015.


Australia – New Zealand (1992)
Australia – New Zealand (2015)

Pakistan’s Prime Minister

Nawaz Sharif (1992)
Nawaz Sharif (2015)

Pakistan’s Captain

Imran Niazi of Mianwali (1992)
Misbah Niazi of Mianwali (2015)

Captain Injury

Yes (1992)
Yes (2015)

Surprise Allrounder

Ijaz Ahmed (1992)
Haris Sohail (2015)

Opener who can bowl

Amir Sohail (1992)
Mohammad Hafeez (2015) Though he won’t be bowling due to ban.

2 leg spinners

Mushtaq & Iqbal Sikander (1992)
Shahid Afridi & Yasir Shah (2015)

Middle order Batsman from Multan

Inzamam-ul-Haq (1992)
Sohaib Maqsood (2015)

Aggressive middle order batsman from Lahore

Salim Malik (1992)
Umar Akmal (2015)

Opening Batsman from Lahore

Rameez Raja (1992)
Ahmed Shehzad (2015)

Wicket-keeper from Karachi who likes to sweep

Moin Khan (1992)
Sarfraz Ahmed (2015)

Left arm leader of the attack

Wasim Akram (1992)
Mohammad Irfan (2015)

The winners

Pakistan (1992)

? (2015)

Amazing, aren’t they?

Let’s keep fingers crossed and hope for the best.

Imran Hunzai
Imran Hunzai is a cricket fanatic and blogger. He contributes stories related to T20 Cricket and Pakistan Cricket Team. He is also the co-founder Centangle Interactive - an Islamabad-based digital media agency.
  • ather shamim

    Winner of world cup 2015 should be australia,england or india………………………………………

  • Raheel Sheikh

    I think pakistan has no chance for qualify for the semi final of the world cup because we can not forget the result of our team poor performance in champions trophy 2013 which held in england where our team lost all of those (3) matches under the same captain misbah ul haq. our team is only effective when we play in asian conditions.