Pakistan Beats World XI in the Final Match of Independence Cup 2017

Final Match of Independence Cup 201

Pakistan has beaten World XI the third and final match of Independence Cup 2017 by 33 runs to lift the series trophy. Earlier, the 3-match series was leveled after Thisara Perera helped win a thrilling last over decider match at the same venue.

Batting first, Pakistan put a target of 184 for the guests to win the match. In reply, World XI could only manage 150 for the loss of 8 wickets.

Fakhar Zaman (27) and Ahmed Shehzad (89) started off very strong for Pakistan before Fakhar Zaman got run out in an unfortunate incident. Babar Azam and Ahmed Shehzad steered the hosts towards a decent total. Babar Azam (48) missed his fifty by less than 5 runs twice this series. Shoaib Malik made a speedy 17 off 7 balls, thanks to two colossal sixes.

Thisara Perera and Cutting took one wicket each for World XI.

World XI started off with losing Tamim Iqbal (14) and wickets kept on falling. Hashim Amla (21) showed some hope but a Fakhar Zaman and Hasan Ali combo got his run out. Miller (32), Perera (32) and Sammy (24) remain top scorers for World XI.

Hasan Ali took 2 wickets while Imad Wasim, Usman Khan,  and Rumman Raees took one wicket each.

Ahmed Shehzad was declared man of the match for his 89-run knock in the final match of Independence Cup 2017. Babar Azam took the title of man of the series for his consistent all-round performances throughout the series.

Imran Hunzai
Imran Hunzai is a cricket fanatic and blogger. He contributes stories related to T20 Cricket and Pakistan Cricket Team. He is also the co-founder Centangle Interactive - an Islamabad-based digital media agency.