PCB announces ODI & T20 squad for New Zealand tour

PCB announces ODI & T20 squad for New Zealand tour

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced 16-man ODI and T20 squad for the series to be played against New Zealand. Pakistan Chief selector Haroon Rasheed announced the teams at a press conference in Lahore on Friday, 1st January, 2015.

Two major inclusions are return of pacers Mohammad Amir and Umar Gul. While Mohammad Amir is still awaiting a visa approval, Gul can be seen in action after more than an year.

16-member T20I squad:

Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Sohaib Maqsood, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shahid Afridi (captain), Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Amir Yamin, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Wahab Riaz, Umar Gul, Mohammad Rizwan, Saad Nasim, Mohammad Amir (Subject to grant of visa).

16-member ODI squad:

Ahmed Shehzad, Azhar Ali (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Sohaib Maqsood, Zafar Gohar, Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Wahab Riaz, Rahat Ali, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Amir (Subject to grant of visa).

Talking to media, Chief Selector Haroon Rasheed said:

“The team has been selected keeping in view the forthcoming ICC World T20, to be held in March-April 2016 in India.

“The selectors monitored the training and fitness camp to assess the current fitness levels and fielding standards. Imad Wasim is fully fit and his selection is likely to give greater balance to the team combination.

“Umar Gul too is back to full fitness and has bowled well in domestic competition and in the camp as well; we have opted to call him for his experience.

“On his international comeback, Mohammad Amir will travel with the team subject to grant of visa by the New Zealand government”.

Imran Hunzai
Imran Hunzai is a cricket fanatic and blogger. He contributes stories related to T20 Cricket and Pakistan Cricket Team. He is also the co-founder Centangle Interactive - an Islamabad-based digital media agency.