Sri Lanka win ICC T20 World Cup 2014

Sri Lanka win ICC T20 World Cup 2014

Sri Lanka have turned to become the new ICC T20 cricket champions after beating former T20 world champions India in a low scoring final. After winning the toss, Sri Lankan captain Lasith Malinga decided to bowl first that bear great fruit for his side. India managed to score just 130 in given 20 overs for the loss of 4 wickets. Virat Kohli, yet again in the tournament, scored 50+ individual runs. He made 77 off 58 balls including 5 boundaries and 4 sixes. No other Indian batsman could help to take their side to a safe total.

Sri Lanka win ICC T20 World Cup 2014

Sri Lanka lost a few earlier wickets including Kusal Perera for just 5 and Tillakaratne Dilshan for 18. Mahela Jayawardene helped a bit in the middle with his 24 off same number of deliveries but it was Kumar Sangakkara who scored a match winning 52 off 35 balls. His inning included 6 boundaries and a six.

In the end, Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets with 13 balls to go.

This is the first time Sri Lanka have won a World T20 title. The last time Sri Lanka had won any world title was back in 1996 in Lahore when the won the World Cup.

Sri Lanka win ICC T20 World Cup 2014 (Watch Highlights)

Watch the match highlights here.

About The Author

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *