Pakistan, New Zealand will lock horns in the tri-series final on Friday

New Zealand and Pakistan have been confirmed as tri-series finalists after the Blackcaps defeated Bangladesh by 48 runs today at Christchurch’s Hagley Oval.

New Zealand will face Pakistan in the final match of the tri-nation series on Friday, October 14, at the same venue.

Following the conclusion of the Tri-series final match, teams will travel to Australia for the T20 World Cup 2022.

Bangladesh’s team was ruled out for the final as they lost the first three games. Tomorrow’s match between Bangladesh and Pakistan will therefore be meaningless.

On Tuesday, New Zealand defeated Pakistan by nine wickets. They batted well again on Wednesday, setting Bangladesh a target of 208, but the visitors only reached 160-7.

Captain Kane Williamson was given the day off as New Zealand, led by Tim Southee, repeated their eight-wicket win over Bangladesh on Sunday to boost their World Cup chances.

Devon Conway hit 64 off 40 balls for New Zealand, and his 45-run stand with Finn Allen, who reached 32 after a spectacular catch by Yasir Ali, set the tone.

Glenn Phillips was named man-of-the-match after scoring 60 runs off 24 balls to help New Zealand to a 208-run victory with only five wickets lost.

Other Articles