Pakistan Won the T20 Tri-Series Final defeating New Zealand by 5 Wickets

Pakistan Won the T20 Tri-Series Final defeating New Zealand by 5 Wickets

Posted by

Pakistan defeated New Zealand by 5 wickets to clinch the tri-series final on Friday at Hagley Oval in Christchurch.

Pakistan chased down 164 runs in the final over for the loss of five wickets to defeat the Black Caps in the tri-series final.

All-rounder Muhammad Nawaz helped Pakistan seal the win with three balls to spare with another stellar inning. He remained the top scorer with 38 off 22 balls, While Iftiqar Ahmed scored 25 runs off 14 balls.

Nawaz and Iftiqar finished the match in the last over with three balls to spare. Haider Ali changed the game with his blistering knock of 31 off 15 balls before Tim Southee removed him in the 16th over.

Earlier, Pakistan won the toss and elected to bowl first against the hosts. In their innings, New Zealand scored 163 runs while losing seven wickets. Kane Williamson, the captain of the Black Caps, scored 59 runs off 38 balls. Philipps scored 29 runs.

In reply, Pakistan openers Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan smashed Tim Southee for nine runs in the first over and then hit Trent Boult for 10 in the second.

Spinner Bracewell took the ball and grabbed the wickets of Azam and Shan Masood. Bracewell finished as man of the series.

Ish Sodhi then trapped Rizwan lbw for 34 runs off 29 balls.

Pakistan fast bowlers Haris Rauf and Naseem Shah bagged two wickets each.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.